Cookies on the John Lewis Broadband website

We use cookies so that you get the best experience on our website. They'll remember your settings, improve social media features and make sure you get personalised offers.

You can accept all cookies, or choose which ones you're happy for us to use. You can change these at any time.

Help and Support

Cancelling your service

To cease your service (as opposed to moving to another provider), you can call Customer support on 0800 022 3300, request your cancellation online using Contact us, or in writing to our address via Recorded Delivery. We'll be able to process your request after a quick security check.

To move your service to another provider you don't need to contact us. From 20th June 2015, MAC (Migration Authorisation Code) keys are no longer required to move between providers. Please note that upon receipt of notification from your new provider that you wish to transfer your service, we will contact you to let you know the consequences of your service transferring, including any applicable early termination charges or broadband cessation charges.

Before you decide to cancel your service, it's worth running through this article to understand all the ins and outs.

Notice Period

You need to give us 14 days' notice if you are moving to another provider or 10 days' written notice if you are leaving for any other reason. Where you are moving to another provider, we will accept that provider's order notification as notice.

Cancelling in your first 12 months

If you're still within the first 12 months of your contract you'll need to pay an early termination charge. For more information, see our Terms and conditions.

Cancellation of service under the Consumer Contracts (Information, Cancellation and Additional Charges) Regulations 2013 ("the Regulations")

Any non-business service from John Lewis Broadband (apart from BullGuard) ordered on or after 10th June 2014 can be cancelled 14 days from the day after you sign-up for the service. If you cancel during this time you will have to pay for the services you have used, any applicable installation, connection or activation charges (including any charges that were discounted or advertised as free at the time we accepted your order for the services) and return any equipment provided. If the service you sign-up for is a re-contract, upgrade or add-on, we may revert you to your previous contract upon cancellation or the closest matching service.

You can cancel your order for the equipment we have sent you up to 14 days after you receive it from us.

If you wish to cancel within the period set out above, you can use the cancellation form, located here and post it to us or by calling us on 0800 022 3300. Please ensure that when you cancel, you tell us if you are cancelling to just stop the service or in order to transfer to another provider, so that we can deal with your cancellation appropriately.

Cancelling broadband and cessation charges

There's a £25.00 charge for removing broadband from a telephone line. You'll need to pay this charge if you cancel your broadband service and cease the service or move the service to another provider on a different network. The cost applies in a number of other situations:

  • A name change on your phone bill, which results in the automatic removal of broadband service.
  • You are moving to a new address. See our Moving home guide.

Can't find what you're looking for?

If we've not been able to address your query through a support article please contact Customer support for further assistance.

Having problems with your broadband connection?

Use our Broadband troubleshooter to diagnose and fix the problem.

Service Status

For full details of our current issues or any maintenance work that could be affecting your service please visit our Service Status site.